A Message to my Friends and Readers in France

12239981_1103103863040904_600091812633973840_n

A Message to my friends and readers in France:

Like all of us here in the United States, I am horrified by the attacks in Paris last night. It is hard to comprehend such violence, such hatred.

My own words seem inadequate to the situation, but let me offer words once spoken by our own Leonard Bernstein, which seem particularly fitting today:

We musicians, like everyone else, are numb with sorrow at this murder, and with rage at the senselessness of the crime… our music will never again be quite the same. But this will be our reply to violence: to make music more intensely, more beautifully, more devotedly than ever before.

You have lost much, but please no you are not alone. All of us stand with you in this dark time, sending our prayers and hopes for healing.

.

.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.